Here's How Your Senator Voted on the "Skinny" Repeal

July 28th 2017

Dave Fonseca
Sarah Gray

The so-called "skinny" repeal of the Affordable Care Act failed early Friday morning. This vote, which took place after 1:00 a.m. ET, "comes after two previous, failed attempts this week to repeal Obamacare," as ATTN:'s Dave Fonseca wrote. "Unlike those previous efforts—one of which would have repealed and replaced the Affordable Care Act, and the other which repealed major provisions and offered no replacement alternative—the 'skinny' repeal eliminates just a few of Republicans’ least favorite aspects of the 2010 health care law."

The bill's final vote was 49-51; three Republicans—Senators McCain, Murkowski, and Collins—joined Democratic Senators in voting "no". 

This is what the "skinny" repeal would have done if it passed, according to the Washington Post:

  • Repeal the individual and employer mandates, and the tax on medical device companies
  • Leave the Medicaid expansion, subsidies, most taxes and marketplace regulations such as preexisting conditions protections in place
  • Prevents Planned Parenthood from receiving Medicaid reimbursements for one year, and gives that money to community health centers.
  • Allows states to opt out of some ACA regulations. However, they must cover as many people as the ACA does with plans that are just as comprehensive. This requirement would make it very difficult for states to waive pre-existing conditions protections or the minimum “essential health benefits” insurance plans are required to offer.

Here's how your Senator voted:

Here's who voted in favor of the "skinny" repeal.

  • Dean Heller (R-Nev.)
  • Jerry Moran (R-Kan.)
  • John Barrasso (R-Wyo.)
  • Rob Portman (R-Ohio)
  • Bill Cassidy (R-La.)
  • James Lankford (R-Okla.)
  • Ron Johnson (R-Wis.)
  • Mike Lee (R-Utah)
  • Steve Daines (R-Mont.)
  • Roy Blunt (R-Mo.)
  • Tom Cotton (R-Ark.)
  • John Boozman (R-Ark.)
  • Rand Paul (R-Ky.)
  • Deb Fischer (R-Neb.)
  • Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska)
  • Jim Risch (R-Idaho)
  • Michael Crapo (R-Idaho)
  • John Hoeven (R-N.D.)
  • Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.V.)
  • Orrin Hatch (R-Utah)
  • Bob Corker (R-Tenn.)
  • John Thune (R-S.D.)
  • Michael Enzi (R- Wyo.)
  • Richard Burr (R-N.C. )
  • James Inhofe (R-Okla.)
  • Jeff Flake (R-Ariz.)
  • Todd Young (R-Ind.)
  • Roger Wicker (R-Miss.)
  • Patrick Toomey (R-Pa.)
  • Thom Tillis (R-N.C.)
  • Richard Shelby (R-Ala.)
  • Tim Scott (R-S.C.)
  • Ben Sasse (R-Neb.)
  • Marco Rubio (R-Fla.)
  • Michael Rounds (R-S.D.)
  • Pat Roberts (R-Kan.)
  • David Perdue (R-Ga.)
  • Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.)
  • John Kennedy (R-La.)
  • Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.)
  • Charles Grassley (R-Iowa)
  • Lindsey Graham (R- S.C.)
  • Cory Gardner (R-Colo.)
  • Joni Ernst (R-Iowa)
  • Ted Cruz (R-Tex.)
  • John Cornyn (R-Tex.)
  • Thad Cochran (R-Miss.)
  • Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.)

Here's who voted against the amendment.

  • Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska)
  • Susan Collins (R-Me.)
  • John McCain (R-Ariz.)
  • Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii)
  • Brian Schatz Hawaii (D-Hawaii)
  • Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio)
  • Robert Menendez (D-N.J.)
  • Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.)
  • Bill Nelson (D-Fla.)
  • Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.)
  • Claire McCaskill (D-Mo.)
  • Joe Manchin (D-W.V.)
  • Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.)
  • Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.)
  • Kamala Harris (D-Calif.)
  • Joe Donnelly (D-Ind.)
  • Gary Peters (D-Mich.)
  • Mark Warner (D-Va.)
  • Edward Markey (D-Mass.)
  • Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.)
  • Cory Booker (D-N.J.)
  • Michael Bennet (D-Colo.)
  • Christopher Murphy (D-Conn.)
  • Tom Udall (D-N.M.)
  • Bob Casey (D-Pa.)
  • Chris Coons (D-Del.)
  • Heidi Heitkamp (D-N.D.)
  • Debbie Stabenow(D-Mich.)
  • Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.)
  • Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.)
  • Benjamin L. Cardin (D-Md.)
  • Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.)
  • Ron Wyden (D-Ore.)
  • Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.)
  • Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.)
  • Jon Tester (D-Mont.)
  • Jack Reed (D-R.I.)
  • Patty Murray (D-Wash.)
  • Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.)
  • Patrick J. Leahy (D-Vt.)
  • Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.)
  • Tim Kaine (D-Va.)
  • Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.)
  • Al Franken (D-Minn.)
  • Richard Durbin (D-Ill.)
  • Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.)
  • Thomas R. Carper (D-Del.)
  • Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.)
  • Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.)
  • Angus King (I-Me.)
  • Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.)