Here's How Your Senator Voted on Rex Tillerson for Secretary of State

February 1st 2017

Thor Benson

Former Exxon Mobil CEO and chairman Rex Tillerson was confirmed as secretary of state by the Senate on Wednesday.

The final vote count was 56 to 43, with no Republicans voting against him. Well known Democratic and Independent Sens. Bernie Sanders, Al Franken, Cory Booker, Chuck Schumer, and Elizabeth Warren voted against Tillerson, according to the Senate's website. Democratic Sens. Joe Manchin, Heidi Heitcamp and Mark Warner voted in favor.

senate vote tillerson

Tillerson was controversial pick due to his ties to President Vladimir Putin; he received the Order of Friendship medal from the Russian leader in 2013. Tillerson has helped execute numerous multi-billion dollar oil deals in Russia over the past 18 years. He was also the CEO of Exxon Mobil from 2006 to 2016, which worries environmentalists.

Critics of Tillerson reacted on Twitter by questioning his ties to Russia, his financial investments, and the Democrats who voted for him.